Format: Album (vinyl, CD, digital)
Release date: February 22, 2010
Buy links4AD StoreEfterklang shopSpotify


  1. Modern Drift

  2. Alike

  3. I Was Playing Drums

  4. Raincoats

  5. Harmonics

  6. Full Moon

  7. The Soft Beating

  8. Scandinavian Love

  9. Mirror Mirror

  10. Natural Tune


Efterklang’s third studio album and their first for British label 4AD. It sounds unmistakably like Efterklang and yet it sets a new tone and direction for the band.

The core of the album was recorded in Aarhus’ Feedback Recording Studio, and later orchestral flourishes and contributions from their touring band members - Peter Broderick, Heather W. Broderick, Frederik Teige and Daniel James were added in Copenhagen. Renowned British engineer Gareth Jones (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Interpol, Grizzly Bear, Wire and more) worked on the mixing along with Efterklang’s own Mads Brauer. Magic Chairs was nominated for the Nordic Music Prize 2010 and it won the IMPALA Award for European Independent Album of 2010.

Album artwork by Hvass&Hannibal.